first impression of nature | Daily Prompt: The Natural World

Describe your first memorable experience exploring and spending time in nature. Were you in awe? Or were you not impressed? Would you rather spend time in the forest or the city?

This is hard, truly. I have been around small forest, small river, and small area of plantation and there are plenty of them around my home. Deciding my first impression would be confusing. You can see set of photos taken by my phone camera in this very blog, like this one, this one, and this one. I haven’t captured the river in picture, tough. Maybe it’ll be done at some other time.

So, what is the description?

There is an old building which was a building for kindergarten. This particular building is already mentioned in one of two links provided above. Back when I was in elementary school, if I’m not mistaken, there was a small bench made of concrete in the middle of playground. I remember the season was rainy season and my hometown got a lot of rain, especially the hard ones. The cloud was grey and a bit black as if they were going to rain very soon. The breeze was cool and a bit moist and if it blew it left a cool sensation on your body and it was nice, really.

What I did back was just sitting on the bench, well, it’s rightfully called ‘sit’ because it was like I lied down but my back was still straightened. Then I completely lied down with my bicycle parked somewhere else near a pine tree. I could the sky freely without worrying my eyes because the sun was blocked the cloud. I could smell the scent of wet grass, decomposing dead leaves, and the, I don’t know, wet soil? I think I was there lying down for more than half of an hour and I didn’t remember what the time was because all day was just cloudy and dark. Sun wasn’t able to shoot its bright ray through the cloud.

I could hear the sounds of the small birds like what you would find the in the middle of forest especially pines. There was also, sometime, a cat passing by or being lazy, lying down on the grass. I could see, barely, one or two grasshoppers jumped from one leave to another or they just simply jumped onto me. It was funny and so refreshing. When the wind blew hard enough the water from the rain, which was on the leaves up on the trees, would be blown and sometimes fell down onto my face and then I suddenly woke up and realized that wasn’t raining.

Conclusion: I can’t remember what happened precisely back then but these paragraphs are as far as I can go with my memories about nature. Generally and specifically I pronounce that this experience impressed me very much.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

