cut off ropes and set sail

One day I went straight to a house of wisdom, sort of. This house is located inside everyone’s mind, laid bare in the open if windless tide, and standing in the middle of vast and calm ocean called experience. One would sail using personal boat to attend the house for there is living a sage of life, a sum of everyone’s expertise.

The journey was not easy and it will never be easy. Calming ocean means I have to row and being such a vast ocean means I have to have a good stamina for rowing. Man, that was really a tiring journey but I would say truthfully, it was worth the wisdom I got from the sage. For off the record, you might find that what I got is not much of a wisdom and it would be more like a obvious knowledge of which everyone knows. Well, I don’t mind .

The end comes, soft of. I opened a door of endless possibilities and there less and lesser possibilities I find every time I open the door; a door made of one layer of thick wooden ornament telling a story of how human lives. I woke up this morning with a bliss of something I did not know, which now I do know. I said to the sage.

This insignia is barely seen and complete. The sign of red rose is nearly completely worn off. Has time come to an end for my services are no longer necessary?

A sage came down and sat in front of me. His title is Sage of the Forgotten. He belongs to everything human forgets, everything human wants to lose. He is the one who keeps all thoughts, memories, and long lost wisdom. He wields a book of nothingness, behind his old and worn out seat, there is a big and clear mirror. He answers all questions of the lost. He said with his low voice.

Has it now? Does your insignia resemble of anything or is it for everything?

I had to admit, everything I have carved with everything I have is stored within the pendant. This insignia, this pendant is obviously small and yet it could contain so much. I tracked back all my run, my breathes, my slashes. I looked upon my old and worn out sword and opened my pendant. I remembered all the songs I have forgotten, ignored, and modified; all songs which weren’t mine to begin with. He continued.

For you to have lived and experienced this long dream, is this pendant able to contain all of them?

So much I have kept hidden and opened, I have claimed as mine, I have called upon when my strength lowered. For then, they were all reason I have been holding, basic of my understanding of this vague world, the strongest binding for my stand.

You have endured what you claimed to be true yet they were never meant to be that way.

Have I come to a moment when I have to take a sail again for now this insignia has become an artifact of the old?

If that would be your answer then fear not. We Sages have always been and will always be your company in every path you choose.

I looked up the old one and I suddenly understood what I had to do. I sticked my sword and left my pendant, insignia, hanging at the sword behind. I left them in sages’ care. I put on my cloak and went out the room. Storms have been brewing up, unlike the time I got the house of sages. The Sage walked me until I reached my sailboat.

May your journey be fortunate, Young One.

Author: anwari

stay low and keep your head down

Leave a Reply

