Why did you not do this?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Plead the Fifth.”

There are several question I hate to hear and some other statements too. After graduated from college long hours of studying, struggling just to barely exceed the passable mark, I was forced to face reality. Tired? Yes. But, if that was calming situation when I was left alone for few weeks deciding what to do, that’d be great. Instead of that, people came over in rush and asking,

Hey, why don’t you do (fill in with some kind of jobs, works, or matters a fresh graduate would normally do or wish)? The salary is good, the location is well-known, etc..

I understand that people just want the best for me, including future, housing plan, jobs (or even a spouse?). I really appreciated that all, so much. Thank you. But, would you people just let me take a breath or two? Not literally, but it’d be great if you all just let me finish my after-graduation-ceremony administration things. I can’t apply for work as a fresh graduate without my bachelor certification, now can I?

Say, I chose one particular job at particular company. Then when I got my step on the front door of my home, they were coming again.

Why did you even choose that place? Why didn’t you choose this (fill in with a better work with higher salary and prestige)? I’m sure that you’d be ….

After a month, the phone would ring and then multiple questions would rain down from speaker while I was confused, thinking if there was still a right answer left to give. There I said,

Okay, if that so, why don’t you take the path and show me the way? Put on my shoes, carry my backpack, do my daily jobs, and send those application emails to this and that big and prestigious company you want me to work for. Oh, yeah. Don’t forget to take this paper from this person and … Ah, you want me to do it by myself? So why are you still talking and arguing over this matter?

No, no. If I say things like that, I’d probably get scolded by elders in my family and friends because of being impolite. The point is suggesting something is really-really-really helpful. It’s is indeed helpful. But sometimes, all I desire is support and a pat on my back while saying, come on, you can do it. Not being accused of doing and choosing wrong matters over and over again. I don’t what way leads to which way. All I can do is trying and see if it goes to better life or not, if it is okay or not.

I am not saying that questioning my choice is bad. I mean, sometimes, I do need to have someone as bouncing wall so I may see things in different angles.

So, instead of hammering me with this accusing question and statement about how really wrong and stupid I was because of doing and choosing my current jobs, education, and life, why don’t you help me? Share your experience of your old ages, tell me if you have premonition over stuffs I desire, and also wish and pray to Him for our best in life? So I may choose the right path and don’t come out as being stupid and worthless?

Oh yeah, I forgot one thing. If you people want to shoot me with question about how I am going to get married and related subjects, don’t bother. I won’t answer this kind of question. Not that I am being arrogant and prideful of being single. I just don’t have the answer other than, today is not the time.

Good day.

Author: anwari

stay low and keep your head down

Leave a Reply

