A Code To Uphold

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Walk the Line.”

This code I have been holding since junior high is pretty simple and yet not that easy to follow. After living for this long with my partially expanded awareness of people’s behavior, I come to realize that people won’t be as silent as you want. I was trained to not talk too much, not to brag about myself (since there is nothing to brag about), not to start conversation and joke around if not necessary, and one last thing: since I am a male, I am not recommended to bother anything about female unless it is health/scientific/norm issues.

Pretty strict, eh? I though so but later I understand that people tend to talk what they want and sometimes without regarding to whom they are speaking. One person has clearly stated something that he/she dislikes and somehow it is okay for another person to joke about it. A specified matter has been declared not to be in public conversation and yet, with fully functioning senses people just talk about it in open areas with loud and clear voice. Where is their sense of silence?

Later, I see that people tend to give hints about what they perceive as secret. If you told people about one secret number, say 13, then trustworthy people won’t talk about anything related to this number. They might as well be totally quiet. But the other kind would find themselves innocent by saying,

I have a small prime number. Consider it bad luck number.

They won’t be bothered if this might cause the supposed-to-be-secret-story blown up like a nuclear warhead hitting its target. Their response would be all like,

Hey, I didn’t say anything. I just said prime number and bad luck.

Guess what, people are not all as dumb as you think they are.

Anyway, keep it silence won’t be enough to contain my sanity here. So, I fixed it by adding another sentence that might prevent a spark from happening. If you want to blow something, you need a spark of fire and a fuel, if you want to make the explosion big. I have on my hand a ton of fuel and small material ready to explode. One thing remains is a spark. This is still within my authority whether to light the fuse or not. So, until now I have holding some codes, one of them complement with the first one is what Captain MacMillan said in one of his mission in Chernobyl.

Keep a low profile and hold your fire.

One thought on “A Code To Uphold

Leave a Reply

